John Hampsey reads from his memoir KAUFMAN’S HILL on February 21st

Event date:  Saturday, February 21, 2015 – 5:00pm Event address:  1818 N Vermont Ave Los Angeles, CA 90027 A profound and intensely moving boyhood memoir, Kaufman’s Hill opens with a prosaic neighborhood scene: The author and some other young boys are playing by the creek, one of their usual stomping grounds. But it soon becomes clear that much more is going on; the boy-narrator is struggling to find his way in a middle-class Catholic neighborhood dominated by the Creely bullies, who often terrify him. It’s the Pittsburgh of the early and mid-1960s, a threshold time just before the counter-culture arrives, and a time when suburban society begins to encroach on Kaufman’s Hill, the boy’s sanctuary and the setting of many of his adventures. As the hill and the 1950s vanish into the twilight, so does the world of the narrator’s...

North Hollywood Lit Crawl returns with Richard Kramer and Peter Mehlman

 Excerpt: “The North Hollywood-based Lit Crawl returns Wednesday with a packed one-evening schedule. More than 100 L.A.-based novelists, poets, memoirists and other writers will partcipate in dozens of events starting at 7 p.m., capped by a closing party at the Federal Bar. One of the highlights of the night is the event called Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction. It will feature readings by actors-turned-(often hilarious)-writers: Annabelle Gurwitch, Stephen Tobolowsky, Richard Kramer and Peter Mehlman. It’s at the store Possch and begins at 7 p.m.” For the full article, click here:...

“Staunton native returns to Queen City with her first novel” – Ann Lewis Hamilton at Bookworks

Excerpt: “Hamilton will be at Bookworks in Staunton for a book-signing on Saturday, September 27, 2-4 p.m. Her first novel, Expecting, continues that witty, absorbing voice from our favorite shows. For fans of The Engagements and Girls in White Dresses, it’s the story of three people bound together by a fateful mistake, and a thoughtful exploration of what it really means to be a parent.  After years of trying, Laurie and Alan are thrilled to find out that they’ll finally be having a baby, until they discover the unthinkable: the doctor has impregnated Laurie with the wrong man’s “donation.” Alan’s shock is almost as great as that of Jack, a college junior who suddenly finds out he’s a father. And Laurie is caught in between—thrilled to be a mother, and terrified by consequences that could tear her marriage apart.” For the full article, click...

Jessica Barksdale Inclan next month at A Great Good Place for Books

Excerpt: “So I thought I’d salute a few local authors who are coming to Oakland this fall. Authors like Jessica Barksdale Inclan, who will read from her new book “How to Bake a Man” next month at A Great Good Place for Books. This is Inclan’s 13th novel and a delicious one, too. For those who believe in true love, she’s combined just the right ingredients in this inspiring tale. She’ll join author Ericka Lutz at 7 p.m. Nov. 5.” For the full article, click here: mercurynews.com...
Peter Mehlman at the Gordon Center

Peter Mehlman at the Gordon Center

Excerpt: “Ever wonder who coined the phrase: “Yada yada yada?” What about “double dipping?” “Shrinkage?” Although these terms are now part of English vernacular, that wasn’t always the case. All three phrases came out of the brain of journalist, comedy writer, TV producer and YouTube host-turned-novelist, Peter Mehlman. Mehlman, a University of Maryland alum, will bring his unique brand of comedy to the Gordon Center for Performing Arts on Sept.18 at 7 p.m.” For the full article, click here:...